Gamma Theta Wins 5th Hugh Shields!

Posted by Bradford | General | Wednesday 6 February 2013 9:12 pm
Photo Courtesy of Callie Paquette

This past weekend, the brothers representing Gamma Theta chapter at the annual Western Plains Division Conference accepted a multitude of prestigious awards on behalf of the chapter. The conference started on January 31st in Oklahoma City, where the chapter was represented by nine undergraduates, including seniors Jake Nowak and Vance Beiser, and chapter advisor/house father Bill Burwell. During the first awards session, junior and newly elected Chapter President Mike Hobbs accepted four awards on behalf of the chapter: Excellence in Campus Involvement, Excellence in Community Service, Service to Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, and Exemplary Service to JDRF. Gamma Theta was additionally recognized for Excellence in Financial Operations, Excellence in Campus Involvement, Highest GPA on Campus (an impressive 3.34 from the spring 2012), and Excellence in Recruitment Program. Vance Beiser was additionally recognized for his service as IFC President at Baker University throughout 2012.

For Gamma Theta, division conference culminated during the final awards ceremony, when the chapter was recognized for excellence in chapter programming by receiving the Court of Honor gavel, distinguishing the chapter as one of the top 20 chapters of Delta Tau Delta nationally. Continuing to best themselves, Gamma Theta was additionally recognized with the Hugh Shields award for chapter excellence, earning Gamma Theta a place in the top 10 Delt chapters. This being the 5th time Gamma Theta chapter has won the coveted Hugh Shields, the chapter received a unique Hugh Shields flag bearing the chapter name and the previous years in which we won the Hugh Shields. Congratulations to all of our Baker Delts for their hard work and contributions. Rah Rah Delta!

 To view the article from the Baker Orange about the award including quotes from undergraduate members, click here.